7 Writers — 7 Days of the Week — 7 … Deadly Sins?

So, we’re eating the most wonderful supper last August and we start talking about the Blog. I mean, six of the seven are actually present and we are eating the bestest food and drinking very good wine and somebody (I think it was Caroline) comes up with the idea–7 writers? 7 sins.

In Dante Alighieri’s epic poem, The Divine Comedy, the seven deadly sins are as follows: Luxuria (extravagance, later lust), Gula (gluttony), Avaritia (greed), Acedia (sloth), Ira (wrath, more commonly known as anger), Invidia (envy), and Superbia (pride).

We used a random number generator to decide who would start and then used the traditional order of the deadly sins to assign the rest. It really was a coincidence that I go last.

    11/3 Saturday Caroline: Lust
    11/4 Sunday Rory: Gluttony
    11/5 Monday Morgan: Greed
    11/6 Tuesday Madeleine: Sloth
    11/7 Wednesday Maureen: Wrath
    11/8 Thursday Brad: Envy
    11/9 Friday Stevie: Pride

I think later in that same party, we discussed other groupings of 7. For instance, there are the 7 cardinal virtues: chastity, abstinence, temperance, diligence, patience, kindness, and humility.

But me, I’m shooting for the 7 dwarfs.